31 American Indians among new IEEE scholarship recipients


Thirty-one American Indians are on the 2022 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers New Fellows list. This is a recognition that all engineers cherish, as the IEEE Fellow Award is given to members with extraordinary accomplishments in the technical fields of the IEEE.

To maintain the exclusivity of this recognition, the total number of recipients each year must never exceed 0.1% of the total number of senior members. Along with the 32 Native Americans, engineers of Indian descent from around the world are also on that list, according to a press briefing. Here is the list of American Indians:

Dr Anirban Bandyopadhyay, of Pleasanton, Calif., For his leadership in RF-SOI technologies on silicon

Dr Anurag Srivastava, Morgantown, West Virginia, contributions to grid resilience

Dr Apurva Mody, Chelmsford, Massachusetts, Leadership in Sharing and Standards of the Cognitive Dynamic Spectrum

Professor Arijit Raychowdhury, Atlanta, Georgia, for his contributions to the design of energy efficient adaptive integrated circuits

Ashok Veeraraghavan, Houston, Texas, contributions to digital photography and computer vision,

Dr Brij Singh, West Fargo, North Dakota, for all-terrain vehicle electric drive applications

Dr Debargha Mukherjee, Mountain View, Calif., For her leadership in developing standards for the video streaming industry

Devavrat Shah, Cambridge, Massachusetts, contributions to network and information science, inference, and machine learning

Dr Hanumant Singh Boston, Massachusetts, for the development of positioning and mapping techniques and autonomous systems for marine and polar applications

Dr Hariharan Krishnan, Troy, Michigan, for his contributions to connected vehicle security systems

Dr Krishna Nayak, Long Beach, Calif., Contributions to Real-Time Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Human Heart and Vocal Airway Airways

Dr Mahesh Iyer, Fremont, Calif., A leader in ASIC and FPGA electronics design automation

Professor Maruthi Akella, Austin, Texas, for his contributions to spacecraft control systems

Professor Mathews Jacob, Iowa City, Indianapolis, contributions to computational biomedical imaging

Murali Annavaram, Los Angeles, California, for his contributions to heterogeneous architectures for energy efficient computing systems

Dr Narayan Srinivasa, San Jose, CA, contributions to neural and neuromorphic computing architectures, circuits and algorithms

Professor Nitesh Chawla, Notre Dame, Indianapolis, Contributions to Learning from Imbalanced Data and Heterogeneous Graphics

Professor Puneet Gupta, Los Angeles, California, contributions to the design and co-optimization of integrated circuits

Rajesh Rajamani, Saint Paul, Minnesota, contributions to vehicle control in intelligent transportation systems

Rajapandian Ayyanar, Tempe, Arizona, for his contributions to power conversion and grid integration of renewable resources

Rajeev Thakur, Lemont, Illinois, for his contributions to high performance interfaces for scalable computer systems

Professor Samarjit Chakraborty, Chapel Hill, North Carolina, contributions to system-level temporal analysis of cyber-physical systems

Satish Ranade, Las Cruces, New Mexico, for his contributions to the integration of renewable and distributed energy resources into electrical systems

Shambhu Upadhyaya, Buffalo, New York, for his contributions to mitigating insider attacks and malware in cyberspace

Professor Soummya Kar, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Contributions to Distributed Signal Processing

Dr Sriram Vishwanath, Austin, Texas, for his contributions to information theory and the coding of wireless communication systems.

Dr Subhashish Bhattacharya, Raleigh, NC, for his contributions to power conversion systems and active power filters

Sujata Banerjee, Palo Alto, Calif., For her leadership in programmable and energy efficient networks

Professor Suman Banerjee, Madison, Wisconsin, developing tools to improve the performance and usability of wireless systems

Tara Sainath, Jersey City, New Jersey, contributions to deep learning for automatic speech recognition

Vijay Gupta, Notre Dame, Indianapolis, for his contributions to networked and cyber-physical systems

Previous Instruments signed by Paul McCartney, Keith Richards, Tom Petty added to MusiCares charity auction
Next Ali Lieberman joins Symphonic Distribution as VP of Product