Hanover Wind Symphony to perform in outdoor concert

The Hanover Wind Symphony will present a free outdoor concert on Tuesday, July 6 at 7 p.m. at Ginty Field, 50 Woodland Ave. in Morris Township. The concert is called “Bringing people to music and music to people.” . . Again! ”(HWS slogan is“ Bringing people to music and music to people. ”)

Members of the public should come to the concert with lawn chairs or blankets and follow all CDC guidelines.

Matthew Paterno de Parsippany, Music Director and Conductor of the Hanover Wind Symphony, said of the concert: “It was an incredible feeling to make live music during rehearsals with the members of the Hanover Wind Symphony. this spring. We can’t wait to share this music – and our passion for performing it – with our “old friends” and maybe even a few “new friends” at Ginty Field.

The winner of the 2020 HWS Summer Music Scholarship, Ledgewood tubist Zachary Solano, a graduate of Roxbury High School, will perform with the wind orchestra. Solano will perform a tuba solo as part of Andrea Catozzi’s “Beelzebub”.

Reflecting on the past year, Solano said: “When the pandemic forced us all to quarantine and made my school virtual, I was shocked at how different things would be for me as I I was settling into my “new normal”, but saw the opportunity to make the most of the almost infinite time that was given to me. I had to adapt quickly, but I was able to rise to the challenge I started spending all my free time tuba and used the money I was given by the Hanover Wind Symphony to take lessons with world famous musicians. been difficult, I’m grateful for the time I was given to focus on my craft. A silver lining is that Covid-19 has enabled me to become a more mature musician, and the generosity of the Hanover Wind Symphony has made possible many of the experiences I had during the pandemic. ”

Some of the pieces performed during the open-air concert on July 6 include:

  • “Nobles of the Mystical Sanctuary”, by John Philip Sousa
  • “Zampa Overture”, by Ferdinand Herold; arranged by Vincent Frank Safranek
  • “The Olympics: A Centennial Celebration”, by John Williams; arranged by John Moss
  • “Somewhere” (from “West Side Story”), by Leonard Bernstein; arranged by Michael Brown
  • “Big Band Spectacular”, arranged by Jack Bullock
  • “Hamilton Suite”, by Lin-Manuel Miranda; arranged by Jerry Brubaker
  • “Travel Trumpets”, by James D. Ployhar
  • “Amber Waves”, arranged by James Curnow
  • “Beelzebub”, Andrea Catozzi (Zach Solano, soloist, on tuba)

For more information on the HWS Summer Concert, visit www.hanoverwinds.org.

Previous OlliOlli World is the fluorescent action platformer we all need right now
Next Symphony opens summer season with special guest Branford Marsalis