Radiohead’s Philip Selway Details ‘Strange Dance’ Solo Album Shares Visualizer For Main Track

Radiohead’s Philip Selway Details ‘Strange Dance’ Solo Album Shares Visualizer For Main Track

Photo by Phil Shar

Renowned Radiohead drummer Philip Selway has announced his new solo album strange dance will be released on February 24, 2023 via Bella Union. Along with the news, Selway released a visualizer for the main track of the “Check For Signs Of Life” offering.

strange dance marks Selway’s third solo album following his acoustic solo debut Family (2010) and the most elaborate Weather report (2014). Despite his esteem as a percussionist, Selway stepped back from his drumming responsibilities on the 10-track LP, instead welcoming Valentina Magaletti to share his inventive approach and versatile techniques. The project also includes a number of extraordinarily talented and respected musicians, including Hannah Peel, Adrian Utley, Quinta, Marta Salogni, Valentina Magaletti and Laura Moody.

“The scale of this one was very deliberate for me, from the start,” Selway said of the project, which he wrote at home on piano and guitar, displaying his decade of experience outside. by Radiohead. “I wanted the soundscape to be wide and high, but somehow it wraps around that intimate voice at the heart of it.”

The quality of the record is enhanced by the close relationship with its contributors, old and new: Moody and Quinta have known it for years, while the project marks one of the first with Utley. Of the collaborations, Selway said, “There was a really nice dynamic. Ideas came easily. It was a very beautiful relationship between all of us.

strange dance was produced by Marta Salogni, and during the process of tracking the songs in the studio, abstract painter Stewart Geddes created a collection of impressionistic paintings in response to the sound elements, one of which serves as the cover for the LP.

“One of the things I loved about this record is that me, at 55, I’m not trying to hide that fact,” Selway added. “It seems a bit unsupervised rather than seeing this aging process as something that needs to be hidden away.

“I wanted it to have that space, so if you listen to it, you can get lost in it,” he said in conclusion. “Almost like a refuge.”

Watch the “Check for Life Signs” viewer below.

strange dance is available for pre-order here or below.

strange dance Track list

1. Little things

2. What keeps you up at night?

3. Check for signs of life

4. Pick up pieces

5. The Other Side

6. Strange Dance

7. Make it disappear

8. The Heart of It All

9. Salt Air

10. There will be better days

Previous NASA instrument detects dozens of methane super-emitters from space
Next The UTC Symphony Orchestra will give an autumn concert on November 6 with Beethoven's Sixth Symphony