The Faux Paws announce their self-titled debut album


After nearly a decade of making music as Prolegs, the eclectic bi-coastal trio formalize the release of their debut album The Faux Paws, released via Great Bear Records (distribution by Free Dirt Service Co.). refined over ten years of playing together, and is the sound of three close friends – two of whom are brothers – who feel a musical kinship that transcends all stylistic limitations. Are there any raging violin tunes? Saxophone solos? Unrequited love songs? Yes to all of the above, and much more. It would be hard to find a group of musicians with such interesting backgrounds as The Faux Paws. Brothers Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand grew up playing counter dance music with their musician mother in the band Great Bear and Chris Miller grew up in Florida where he was in love with bluegrass and studied jazz before playing with the band. of Cajun country nominated for GRAMMY The Revelers. . The ultimate result of their chemistry is a sense of free musical exploration on The Faux Paws, released August 27. Fans can pre-order the album here.

Since meeting in 2012, the trio have toured North America several times, sometimes under the name The Faux Paws, sometimes as part of other larger ensembles. But due to their commitments to other bands and musical projects, the time was never right to focus on making The Faux Paws a priority until now. Instead, they took their time learning about each other’s different styles of music and finding where their interests and skills could create new, unexpected and exciting sounds. “I love super bright pop music, and Chris always pushes more jazz influence,” says Noah. “But we all have a solid background in dance music, so almost everything we do has rhythm and groove, and is hook and feel.” The Faux Paws effortlessly flows between genres and moods. A catchy lyrical song like “She’s Not Looking For You” is followed by a technical instrumental, “Guacmaster”. Sometimes both sides of the coin are present; the bluegrass-folk “Montauk” pipe is a good example.

It may have taken The Faux Paws ten years to make their debut album, but those years clearly weren’t wasted. Now, with an experimental but cohesive vision, the trio brings together seemingly unrelated musical elements into a cheerful and distinctive collection, deeply rooted in the raw humanity of folk dance and musical traditions.

Watch The Faux Paws live on June 20 in Chimacum, WA, at Finnriver Farm & Cidery and October 30 at the Blackpot Festival in Lafayette, LA.

The prolegs tracklist:

1. Fourth decade

2. She’s not looking for you

3. Guacmaster

4. Child of the Great Lakes

5. Southport

6. Everywhere else

7. Nap

8. The road to Winchester

9. Montauk

10. Running in the sun

11. Katy Hill (Live)

Learn more about prolegs: Brothers Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand grew up playing counter dance music with their musician mother in the band Great Bear. Based in upstate New York, Great Bear has built a solid reputation in the niche world of folk dance music, traveling the country for eighteen years, releasing numerous albums and launching his own festival of dance called The Groove. The two VanNorstrand brothers met Chris Miller at a music camp in New York called Ashokan. “I had never heard of counter dance music before,” says Miller, whose main instrument is the saxophone, “But as soon as we started playing casually together, there was this incredible musical synergy. Miller grew up in Florida and moved to New York City to pursue a master’s degree in jazz, but found himself more in the burgeoning roots music scene there, before settling in Port Townsend, WA. “The most important part of my musical journey is that it is about integrating and complementing other music. How can I bring up the melody, how can I get different sounds from any instrument I play? Explains Miller, who also plays banjo, dobro and clarinet, among other instruments. For the VanNorstrand brothers, who had developed an intense musical “spirit fusion” over nearly two decades of playing together, Miller’s addition provided a welcome break from old habits, while simultaneously linking the sounds of together they were trying to reach. .


Previous Toshiba in chaos after bid to foil activist shareholders
Next Instruments stolen from UK music students